Entry Sixteen: The Upper Darby Downfall.

What is this which morning sunlight,
Gilds with golden beams?
‘Tis our Upper Darby High School,
Castle of our dreams.
Raise the chorus, keep it ringing,
Loud her praises tell.
Hail to thee, beloved High School.
Hail to thee, all hail!

Everyone that attended Upper Darby High School or is currently attending that school should know that is the Alma Mater that is sung at every graduation. Looking at the lyrics of the song, one of the lyrics stand out to me and that is the Castle of Our Dreams. Is Upper Darby REALLY the Castle of Dreams or is it the Castle of Hell? The reason why I’m writing this blog is to so my disgust on the fact that the school that has the best programs with music and the arts, has the negativity coming in the school and becoming on the news that makes every Upper Darby Alumni shaking their heads at the fact that a good school is getting such a bad reputation for what is going on.

I graduated from Upper Darby High School in the class of 2009 where back then, there was nothing negative to report. I can say that my time throughout the High School was a up one and a down one at the same time, but you RARELY saw anything like this on the news. Nine times out of ten, it was positive stuff that was going on and that was it. No negativity or anything. As soon as I left Upper Darby High, the negative side started to roll and here is a perfect example of the start of the negative effect in Upper Darby.

http://articles.philly.com/2009-12-18/news/25269857_1_chants-lower-merion-students

If you regard that article, it started out as a friendly chant until Lower Merion started to get a little rowdy with their chants and yes, Upper Darby has many names that the list is long to go on, but did they really have to go that far of chanting that type of stuff? You learn about what went down during those horrible times of the Jewish People and how they were burnt up because they were Jewish. Makes me sick to think about it and I expressed my anger towards this back in 2009 because I am part Jewish. Sicken at the same time to even think about it.

While the following years were quiet and you really haven’t heard anything about Upper Darby in the past news prior, but in the Winter of 2011, this case went down along with a couple of other headlines that went down. Here is what happened during that year.

http://philadelphia.cbslocal.com/2011/01/31/upper-darby-students-arrested-in-connection-to-bullying-hanging-incident/

I should say that this made National Media everywhere and it made me sick to even hear about this situation. As some of you may have know that I have been bullied and I always speak about bullying and my experiences being the victim of it, but it made me sick to even hear about it. The kid that was bullied got justice for it, but his bullies did not as they’ve got arrested and I don’t know about their sentence, but I am glad it happened because someone was finally making a stand to bullying.

Now we go something funny and it did not involve anyone from Upper Darby, it was more of a WTF moment that went down and I am sure a lot of you guys remember this situation.

http://www.nbcphiladelphia.com/news/weird/Naked-Chanters-Arrested-at-Upper-Darby-High-School-142959905.html

I was on Spring Break and infact, this was my last day of Spring Break and a little before I went to Monday Night Raw that Monday. I was doing my homework and getting ready to finish something up until my brother posted something on Facebook about naked people running around. I really thought this was a joke, but it was not as I looked at this and said to my mom when I called her up. I was like this is some real stuff that is going on here as she was laughing until I said that was not funny and allowed my brother to explain what happened. Needless to say it was something that was shocking and crazy at the same time.

I am going to fast forward to this year to an incident that really got my pissed off early this year and that was kids, as young as SEVEN cursing out a bus driver’s aid and how the language was going down. At their age at one point, I would never use that type of language to curse someone out like that or my butt would have been smacked. It was sickening to watch and it was sickening to even see the video of these kids cursing out someone that is making sure they get home from school safe and sound. Moving forward a little bit, I am going to talk about a statement I said to my mom prior towards the school year this year. I said to my mom, “How much you want to bet that Upper Darby is on the news this year A LOT for something stupid?” My mom said hopefully not a lot as she said to me, but guess how many incidents their have been so far this year.

Two.

Early this year, some kid brought A LOT of heroin to school this year in a school bag and was arrested for it which lead to a wild chase and leading to a officer that helped me when I got robbed last year, breaking his ankle (I really hope that he is OK as well or making a speedy recovery). The question I had was “Where the hell is this kid getting these types of drugs” Needless to say that this made the new super attendant very upset because he lost a son to a drug overdose from this drug. For the sake of the kid that got caught with this, I hope he learns his lesson and gets help he needs. Heroin is a drug you don’t want to fuck with (I’d never tried it, but I remember a story back in Human Behavior Class where a guest speaker spoke with us about drugs and alcohol and how it messed up his life, but he got clean along the way)

Now I am going to go to today and that is the incident that happened two days right after my birthday and here is the article below for you to read.

http://abclocal.go.com/wpvi/story?section=news%2Flocal&id=9290575

This is where I draw the line. All because two “gangs” were having trouble with each other, does not give you the right to have a freaking Royal Rumble match during Lunch at School. If you have a problem with someone, the best way to have it out is to talk it out with someone and what’s sick about this even more is that a teacher, someone that is there to work and to educate these kids for a successful school career, gets hurt in the process with him getting a concussion and tearing ligaments in his knee. From what I’ve read, six were charged in this situation, but I really think that they should be expelled for what they’ve done in this and I really hope the teacher is OK what was done. You don’t do that type of shit to someone and you sure as hell don’t act like a Zoo Animal on top of that as well. Sickening.

So this is where I conclude with my blog here about this whole situation. Michael Chitwood said the goal is to protect the kids that go here, but I really ask this situation. How are you going to protect them? Last Thursday, I asked my friend’s cousin who attends Upper Darby how is the school now and she said it’s really got worse over the course when my brother and I left the school. The teachers have to use cellphones in case of an emergency and have to lock the doors. I honestly think that more security should be put in the school as well has having metal detectors when you first walk in the door. God forbid if there is a tragedy (which I don’t want to say jinx here) that goes down, it would make the situation worse. Another thing I should state is the Upper Darby School board having an open forum on these problems. I am sure that most of the alumni have no problem speaking out and I have no problem expressing my voice to them and how I feel.

Finally, I should say that I know there are good people in that school, but with the negativity that goes on, it takes away from the school. I already predicted that the worse is yet to come in the year 2015, but this is just the beginning of what is worse to come and I’m sure that there is going to be a lot more disappointment throughout the years here in Upper Darby.

Thanks for Reading.
Meagan

By themeagang

Leave a Reply

